Courting Change

We crave stability, but constantly face change.

Instead of cowering at change, we must learn to court change, using it as a catalyst for more of Christ.

Moses moved more than a military brat. His life was one marked by continually change, changing family, changing locations, changing identities. Born a Hebrew son sentenced to an infant death, placed in papyrus reeds, adopted by Pharaoh’s daughter, nursed by his poor Hebrew momma, raised in a palace. Life was complicated for Moses, Hebrew by nature, Egyptian by nurture. The pressures of a prince watching the abuse of his own people.

Until He fled to Midian. There, we can imagine, He found relief beside a sea of sameness.  The same sheep, the same mountains, the same routine. Life was simple, steady, sure. With his wife to come home to and son Gershom to tickle and chase, Moses finally found a healing home. For all it lacked in excitement and adventure, life in Midian was predictable and peaceful.

image.jpeg

But a burning bush changed everything. In an entirely unexpected and unnatural turn of events, God came to Moses, bidding him back into the complicated life of the unknown.

I am so thankful for Moses’ weakness. I am thankful that fear and self-doubt filled his Hebrew heart. I am thankful that he resisted change, because in his resistance and in God’s gracious response, I learn how to court change.

By inviting us into a pivotal, private moment between Himself and the man Moses, God provides a primer on trusting Him in the midst of the chaos of change.

Painful honesty. Personal interaction. Processing. Promises. A powerful push into the unknown.

We court change by courting the unchanging character of God. We don’t grow to believe the promises by simply repeating them like mantras or staring at them; rather, we grow to believe the promises by further knowing and trusting the Promiser. Even in the midst of doubts that won’t leave and mocking inadequacies, we choose to trust in His faithfulness and adequacy.

As one deeply resistant to change, studying the interaction between Moses and the Lord in Exodus 4 gives me great courage and comfort. If He bids us leave places of safety and security, seasons that feel like home, He promises to hold our hands and fill us with more of His palpable nearness.

Leaving Home for His Hand

Once a forced, foreign land,
Midian had become familiar.
What began a post of exile
Had proven a place of peace. 

I came here a damaged man,
Felling in confusion and fear.
The passing years healed me,
With my wife and son to cheer. 

I cannot believe it myself;
This land became my home.
Now, of all times, You call,
Bidding me far to roam?

My gypsy heart had settled
But a bush burned my plan.
You called, “Moses, Moses,”
I looked for another man. 

A borage of buts later,
You excused all excuse.
The unknowns ubiquitous,
But the promises profuse. 

Your “But I will go with you,”
Trumps each fluttering fear.
So, leaving flock and field,
To Egypt my feet you steer. 

My steps are even heavier
Than my stammering tongue,
Yet You lead and lift me,
As we move rung by rung. 

May we become people who court our Christ, who become so deeply familiar with His faithfulness that change no longer scares us, but steers us more deeply into the lap and love of Christ. May we be willing to leave home holding His hand, trusting He will lead closer to a deepening home in Him.

Leave a Reply

